When do these things become popular?

During my usual morning routine of wiping the sleep from my eyes, taking Shadow out and checking (from afar) the consistency of his stool (don’t ask), and opening Google Reader, I came across this post about ‘duckface’ from Kristi Gustafson of the Times Union.

(**sidenote—If Kristi is reading this (doubtful), she was very helpful a few years ago pointing me to the right person within the web of local journalists when I was trying to get good press for a work project.  Also, before Emiley, we had a brief chat session (about 8.3 seconds) on an online dating site.  Our chat ended when she learned of my golf handicap…which was that I didn’t don’t play golf.)

Anyways…duckface..very popular on FB now and I hate to admit that I have family members– much younger extended family members– that post such pics.  I didn’t know it had a name but after seeing the photos, I knew exactly what it was and am compelled to express how completely ridiculous it looks.

When does this sort of thing become popular and better yet acceptable?  Duckface is in-line with people giving the thumbs up, or throwing up a peace sign when there is a camera around.  I suppose this is the “I’ve been caught by surprise and don’t want to look stupid in a photo” routine.  Too bad these people don’t have more time to think about the situation because they’d realize just how wrong they are.

What other ‘automatic’ actions have you seen, heard about, or participated in when someone surprises you with “Say Cheese”?

post-Post thoughts.  I’m embarrassed to ‘categorize’ this as anything as I hope it’s as short-lived as people repeating any saying commonly used by a hotel heiress.

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When do these things become popular?

  1. Kristi says:

    Jason, I’m reading (and am glad to see your profile pic on your blog does not incorporate the duckface.

  2. Cece says:

    Jason – I am sure if we dig through pics from my brother’s wedding we could find you making some sort of embarassing face!! 🙂 Actually I think we all had at least one shot from that night that we wouldn’t want shown in public!!! hahaha!!!

  3. Jason says:

    Cece…I can only imagine the shots taken of me that night. I recall there being one floating around with me wearing a bonnet of some sort.

  4. Angela says:

    OMG! I had no idea it had a name, it’s good to shorten it up because me calling it the “I think I’m so friggin’ hot that everyone surely wants to have sex with me or at least kiss me” takes a long time to say. Not to mention, the urge to stop myself from sounding like an old fart by following it with “where do kids come up with these things these days”. Well maybe my over use of quotes will give you something other than the “duckface” to be annoyed about. I love this post!

  5. Cece says:

    Jason – I am suprised you remember anything from that nigth at all!!! hahaha!! We sure did party it up though, didn’t we?!!!

Leave a Reply

