How are You defined?

Webster defines ‘you’ as one; anyone; people in general.

Not this Webster

I’ve noticed quite a bit lately that people in their 20’s and 30’s are continuously defining themselves by some random event that happened in high school.  Sure, those awkward years are the building blocks to who we are today but I would not define my adult life by what happened at prom, my first kiss, those embarrassing moments, etc.   So much has happened to me since then and I’ve had so many experiences (good and bad).   I’ve survived cancer, I’ve truly experienced loss, I’ve been married, we’ve got a baby on the way, I’m (fairly) successful in my career, I’ve traveled and so many more things to mention.

I feel bad for those that have to rely on high school memories in order to ‘share’ an experience or  express themselves.  Has nothing happened in the last 10, 15, 20 or more years to these people that would make for ‘better’ story?  Unfortunate.

Some define themselves by the physical things they own, the amount of money they have in their bank account and sometimes by their number of sexual experiences.  It becomes a status thing.  Sure, it’s easy to be jealous when you see someone on TV with extravagant houses, cars, yachts, etc. but I’d bet those same people are telling stories about the 9th grade in daily conversation.

What things do you use to define your ‘status’?  C’mon, we all do it.  For me, it’s the opportunities I have, having an awesome wife and successful marriage, and the knowledge I retain (retaining gets harder each day).  Your ‘status’ is not the same as what makes you a good person or what makes you happy….or is it?

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in awkward, status. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

