Baby-Moon

I’m being introduced to all sorts of new words and phrases as Emiley and I become closer to being parents.

Emiley @ 31 weeks...Doesn't she look awesome?!?

As I was going through my usual routine with Google Reader, I was reading a post on Heather Eats Almond Butter (sidenote:  I don’t know Heather but she has a very well written site with some A-W-E-S-O-M-E recipes and tips for staying healthy).  Heather used the term baby-moon.  I had never heard the term but it wasn’t hard to piece things together to figure out what it meant.  I haven’t looked it up for the ‘official’ definition but it’s the last hurrah before having a baby; a vacation or getaway before travel isn’t feasible for a while.

Interestingly enough, the very next day as Emiley and I were driving, she mentioned the same phrase.  I almost veered into oncoming traffic as that made twice within 24 hours of being exposed to Baby-Moon.

When the clock strikes 4pm today, we will start our Baby-Moon.  We’re heading to the Ballard House Inn for the weekend.  It’s in NH not far from Lake Winnipesaukee.  I love saying that….Winnipesaukee….Winnipesaukee

Another term that was new to me was “Doula”.  It’s basically a ‘helper’ during or after pregnancy.  I suppose a ‘helper’ could be useful but you’d think they’d come up with a different term…one that doesn’t mean “female slave”.  No Thanks.

I’m sure there are a host of other pregnancy/baby related terms that I’m gratefully sheltered from.  Are there others I should know?  Oh..and I have vowed that this post will be the last time I use the phrase Baby-Moon (you’re welcome)….but I will continue saying Winnipesaukee!

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in family, travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby-Moon

  1. Alison M says:

    Have fun on your baby-moon. Looking forward to seeing you guys next weekend.

  2. Denys says:

    Have great weekend you “baby-mooners.”

    Winnipesaukeee!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

