Just what I knee(d)

As many of you know, my baseball umpiring was put on hold half way through the NCAA season when my right knee started acting up…AGAIN.  It’s given me trouble since my fracture in 1992.  Well, I guess it finally said “that’s enough” and took me off the field.

Today, in a little less than 4 hours, I will be going in to have the knee scoped.  This ‘procedure’ is expected to:

  1. clean out any scar tissue and other junk that may be causing problems
  2. if the Dr. can get to the bone spurs without causing other damage he will grind (think it’s a laser) them down.
  3. potentially allow for a ‘lateral release’.  Apparently my kneecap is being pushed outwards.  A ‘release’ should help the kneecap move back to its normal position
  4. give the Dr. a better understanding of what is going on with the tendons, ligaments, bones at the joint….in very simple terms, this is will give us a better estimate of if/when I have to start replacing things in and around the knee.
  5. make me extremely hungry.  I haven’t been able to eat or drink anything since midnight.  They didn’t even want me to brush my teeth but that’s just gross.  I promise surgical team that I will not swallow any water during by brushing process.

No matter what the answer to #4, after a few days, I should have less pain and more mobility.

I will be given an epidural and am always nervous when it comes to anything related to the spine.  I’m told that I will be able to watch the procedure on a monitor.  Hopefully I will get some great pictures to share.

More to come after the narcotics wear off!

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just what I knee(d)

  1. My mother’s gone through this, so I definitely sympathize. Good luck with everything!

  2. Jason says:

    Thanks Kevin!

    The surgery went well. I did watch the entire procedure on the monitor and it was very interesting to see the inner workings of the knee. I feel great, have only a little throbbing (to be expected), and am already okay walking without the crutches.

    Unfortunately, at 34 I’m still looking at a partial replacement in the next year or so…especially if I ever want to umpire again.

    • I don’t know if I could watch my own knee being scoped. It just seems so…odd to me. Maybe it’s because I’m one of those people that can’t watch video of myself.

Leave a Reply

