Don’t cry over spilled….

Sometime between September 1994 and May 1995 while I was in the culinary portion of my Food and Beverage Mgt degree at Johnson & Wales University in Providence RI, I found out (the hard way) that I have a dairy allergy.

I was in an American Cuisine class making a creamy seafood stuffing for something.  I really don’t remember what the stuffing was going into.  As I was making it, I would ‘taste’ it periodically to a) make sure it was ok and b) curb my appetite.  Classes were from 7-1 or 1:30-7:30 with no break for breakfast lunch or dinner.  So what better breakfast than creamy seafood stuffing?  I ended up spending the entire class in the bathroom vomiting and with a throat that constricted.  The next day, I was getting poked all over by an allergist.  The result…an allergy, not lactose intolerance, but an actual allergy to ‘dairy’.  They didn’t get into the specifics.

So, I’ve spent the last 15-16 years not having cheese, milk, ice-cream, sour cream, cream cheese etc.  I ate my cereal with orange juice and I can tolerate eggs, butter and small amounts of chocolate.  Sure there are substitutes like soy and rice but I never really enjoyed the taste.

The other day, I decided it was time to try almond milk.  It’s non-dairy and provides a lot of protein.  I actually ate my first bowl of cereal with a white liquidy substance the other night and absolutely loved it.  It was Blue Diamond Almond Breeze.  It was slightly sweeter than what I remember ‘milk’ being but was good.  This should expand my recipe opportunities and give us more options for dinner so we don’t end up having this discussion any more than necessary.

Why I’m so excited about this, I don’t know.  I should be upset as it now makes me more normal.

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in food, nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t cry over spilled….

  1. Denys says:

    I am glad you found an acceptable substitute for milk. We should try them on French toast! Hope you are feeling better.

  2. Jason says:

    Are you saying you don’t like my french toast now?

    Note to self: Denys gets store bought donuts when he comes to visit.

Leave a Reply

