Blog FAQ

I’m relatively new to the blogging world but it my short tenure I’ve been asked a lot of questions.  Curiosity, I guess.  So let’s get this out-of-the-way.

Why do you blog? I blog for me.  Not for the readers, not the comments, just me.  I consider it a medium for expression.  Don’t get me wrong, seeing a new follower or sharing something that spurs discussion is an awesome feeling.  It’s validating to know that with all the crap out there on the internet, there is interest in what I have to say. I don’t get paid for my musings but I’d happily except the extra 1099 or W-2 although having the freedom of topics and formatting is worth a lot.

What do you blog about? This is easy.  I blog about things I know, things that I question, things that interest me, and experiences.  What would you expect me to blog about?

Do you follow other blogs? Absolutely!  Following and reading what others have to say is how I find topics and styles that interest me.  It’s also a great way to ‘market’ my own blog by commenting on others’ posts.  Blog communities are a great way to network whether for social (as in my case) or business (this is my time away from the office).

What types of blogs do you follow? I break my Google Reader account into 4 main ‘branches’.  Branch one is the cycling and baseball stuff.  These are my interests and allow me to keep up with current trends, policies, and views.  The second is the local/social group.  This group is where I participate the most.  I learn a lot about what’s going on ‘around town’ although I’m far from a socialite.  The third group covers both in-person and online-only friends that have their own little piece of the cyber world.  The 4th is ‘Other’.  Other simply means that it doesn’t fit nicely into branches 1, 2 or 3.

What are your favorite blogs? It depends on what I want to read about at the time but some of my faves are:

  • Rosscott, Inc—the 400 comics over the last 2 years always make me laugh
  • TU Blogs including Kevin Marshall (funny hilarious and he has been awesome at helping get readers to my site), OTE (variety of topics,  solid following and high volume of interactive posts; always fun to read), Amanda Talar (superbly written social topics)
  • The Heathers:  Heather Eats Almond Butter (great healthy recipes), and Then Heather Said (recently found and really enjoy her writing style)
  • Urbanophile–award winning blog with innovative ideas on cities and sustainability

What are your least favorite blogs? I read a lot of posts that differ from my personal, political and social beliefs.  Knowing what the ‘other’ side thinks is a great way to learn and it helps keep an open mind.  As far as things I follow, these would be my least favorite because their content can be frustrating at times.

Still curious?  Subscribe, follow along, participate (comment/question) and if you don’t like what you see, I’ll help you find the delete button.

Thanks to those that currently follow along.

About Jason

Always thinking....about something
This entry was posted in community, social networking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog FAQ

  1. Thanks for the kind words! 🙂

  2. kelly says:

    J- Just catching up on my blog reading – and thank you for helping me find my way to Kevin Marshall’s blog!

  3. Rosscott says:

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

